The who, what, when, where and why of an equestrian

Isn’t life funny? Wouldn’t you know, I’d have a BFO (blinding flash of the obvious) when I feel tired and snippy. But life does that. Tragedy strikes in your life and all of the sudden, when you just become oh so pleasantly complacent, POP! You’ve been thrust from your cocoon by what you thought was suffocating you.

I started this blog almost a year ago and this is the only blog I can remember writing that wasn’t about Sara and myself collectively. Hmm, how interesting! As an introvert, I am mentally charged, so you can be certain that more has gone on in my mind that I’ve let on. But why?

Personal tragedy has been part of my life lately. The ending of the relationship with my significant other and best friend. My grandfather being diagnosed with stage 4 glioblastoma brain cancer. I found myself telling friends, “I can’t believe this is real.” I felt like I was in a waking dream – or nightmare, rather.

But it was real. It is real. And I am not in a dream and I have choices to make. After dinner this evening, I sat down to catch up on the blogs I enjoy reading, specifically surrounding Parelli. I came across a short post by Petra Christensen. Cue BFO. “What if it’s perfect that you’re not perfect.”

This notion started a chain reaction internally. I began feeling empowered. Yes, tragedy is here, but as they say – when God closes a window, He opens a door. I choose to embrace the metamorphosis tragedy has imposed. Because your attitude can strip tragedy of it’s power. Although this revelation was directed at my personal life, I can’t wait to get out and PLAY with my horses with my improved attitude!

Comments on: "What Happens When You Are Indepedent" (1)

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your troubles! My dad died 2 months ago of cancer, I understand what you are going through, and the loss of a relationship in the midst of this tragedy is hard to take. Take time for yourself, take care of yourself! Sending good, healing thoughts your way!

    Petra Christensen
    Parelli 2Star Junior Instructor
    Parelli Central

Leave a Reply

