The who, what, when, where and why of an equestrian

Positive Boundaries

Especially in the world of horses, people can be critical. You don’t look like me. You don’t ride like me. You don’t do what I do. For a thousand different reasons, some constructive, people are critical.

I would say I am naturally an introverted person. When people are upset at me, I’m devastated. This is especially true of horses. I know I have a solid foundation in Parelli. Certainly not a full “quiver,” but a foundation. When people doubt me, I can definitely take it personally. This is something I’ve become more aware of and working hard on – for myself!

I found these words from Yvonne Wilcox’s Level Two Journey in the Savvy Times to be helpful:

After this session I asked Linda what she does when she reads or
hears a negative comment about her that she can’t get over. Her response
was very useful {and I wish I’d asked her the question sooner}:
“I just say to myself, ‘What other people think of me is none of my
business, what other people think of me is none of my business,
what other people think of me is none of my business . . .’ and repeat
it over and over and again and again until the feeling is gone. You see,
there are always going to be critics; some are right, some are not,
but you don’t have to let them undermine you. It’s all about how you
deal with it, and I make it my responsibility not to take it personally.”

Leave a Reply

